About Us & Contact

The Office of the Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research Infrastructure)

Functions of the Pro-Vice-Chancellor Research Infrastructure (PVCRI)

As Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research Infrastructure), Associate Professor Grainne Moran is responsible for strategy, policy, and advice relating to research infrastructure. Her Office is also responsible for provision of shared research facilities and equipment, funding schemes, and associated technology services. The major services and themes supported by her Office are:

  • UNSW shared research facilities, such as the Mark Wainwright Analytical Centre and Network Labs.

  • Research Technology Services, such as High Power Computing and Data Management.

  • Infrastructure funding schemes, in particular, the UNSW internal Research Infrastructure Scheme and major external schemes, such as the ARC LIEF and the Cancer Institute NSW Research Equipment Grant schemes.

  • Coordination of UNSW involvement in research infrastructure at the national and international level, such as National Collaborative Research Infrastructure Strategy initiatives.

The UNSW shared research infrastructure model promotes collaborative use of equipment, expertise, facilities and services as well as coordinated access to major national and international research facilities or consortia in order to enable researchers at UNSW to undertake excellent research and deliver innovative outcomes.


The PVCRI Team

Name Position Ext Email
Grainne Moran Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research Infrastructure) 54642 g.moran@unsw.edu.au
Avril Clarkson Executive Assistant 53213 a.clarkson@unsw.edu.au
Gabriel Caus Senior Infrastructure Manager 54129 g.caus@unsw.edu.au
Luc Betbeder-Matibet Director Research Technology Services 51216 luc@unsw.edu.au
Joachim Mai HPCD Manager   joachim.mai@unsw.edu.au
Jacky Cho Project Officer 52820 k.cho@unsw.edu.au
Jake Surman Research Computing Support Engineer 51752 j.surman@unsw.edu.au
Julia Muenchhoff Senior Project Officer 52979 j.muenchhoff@unsw.edu.au
Alper Yasar Project Officer 57785 s.yasar@unsw.edu.au
Paul O'Brien Cold Storage Systems Manager 56854 paul.obrien1@unsw.edu.au

 


Contact Details

For general enquiries, please contact pvcresin@unsw.edu.au or call +61 2 9385 3213.

For enquiries regarding HPC and other Research Computing, please contact luc@unsw.edu.au.

Office of the Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research Infrastructure)
Level 4, Rupert Myers Building South Wing (M15)
UNSW Kensington Campus NSW 2052

0