Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) & Vice-President

Division of Research


PROFESSOR LESLIE D FIELD, AM, FAA - BSc (1975), PhD (1979), DSc (1991). 

Professor Les Field AM is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) & Vice-President at the University of New South Wales. He is responsible for the strategic research direction and overall research performance of the University, and in particular, maintaining and advancing the University's profile in research and research training, as well as technology transfer.  

The Division of Research provides research support and services to UNSW researchers and Higher Degree Research students through the following units: Graduate Research School; Research Strategy and Partnerships Office; Grants Management Office; UNSW Innovations; Mark Wainwright Analytical Centre; Research Analysis, Performance and Profile Office (RAPPO); Research Ethics and Compliance Support; and  Researcher Development Unit.


Professor Field is a graduate of the University of Sydney (PhD in Chemistry in 1979) and, following Postdoctoral Fellowships at the University of Southern California in Los Angeles and at Oxford, he took up an academic post at the University of Sydney in 1982.  He was awarded a DSc by the University of Sydney in 1991.  At the University of Sydney, Professor Field was Professor of Organic Chemistry (1990-2005); he was Head of the School of Chemistry (1997-2001); Associate Dean for Research in the Faculty of Science (1998-2001); and Acting Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) (2001-2003).  He took up his current post at UNSW in 2005.

He was the recipient of the Organic Chemistry Medal of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute in 1994 and was elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science in 1996.  He has served as a member of the Council of the Australian Academy of Science (2004-2006) and he is currently a member of the Academy Executive as the Secretary for Science Policy.  He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of NSW and he has served on the Council of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute (2004-2008).  He was appointed as Member of the Order of Australia in 2011 for his services to Chemistry and to Higher Education. 

Academic Awards include:  The Rennie Medal (1983); The Edgeworth David Medal (1986); The Organic Chemistry Medal (1992); the Centenary of Federation Medal in 2003; and the Leighton Medal of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute in 2010.

Professor Field is a director of the Victor Chang Cardiac Research Institute Pty Ltd; Australian Technology Park Innovations Pty Ltd; Uniseed Management Pty Ltd and Uniseed UIIT Pty Ltd.  He is also Chairman of UNSW Innovations Pty Ltd which is the technology transfer company for UNSW, responsible for industry engagement, managing the University’s patent portfolio and for dissemination of research done at UNSW into industry and the wider community.

Research Interests and Groups


Location and Contact Details

General Enquiries
+61 2 9385 2700
+61 2 9385 8008
Location Address
Office of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)
Room 137, The Chancellery
Kensington Campus, UNSW
Office of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)
The University of New South Wales
Staff Contacts
Name Position Phone / Email
Professor Les Field AM FAA    

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)

& Vice-President

T: +61 2 9385 2700
F: +61 2 9385 8008
Jennifer Timms Executive Assistant T: +61 2 9385 2700
Bronwyn Greene Executive Officer (Research Policy) T: +61 2 9385 2983
Andrea Burns Executive Officer (Budget & Operations) T: +61 2 9385 3126
Dr Emma Bowen General Manager (Research)

T: +61 2 9385 9008

David Do Manager, Research Integrity & Policy  T: +61 2 9385 2784
Dr William Lao Project Officer T: +61 2 9385 9735
Jane Su Assistant Finance Manager T: +61 2 9385 3093