Skip to main content

Professor Cyrille Boyer

+61 4 0160 0607

Prof. Cyrille Boyer is the codirector of Australian Centre for NanoMedicine and Deputy Head of School (Research), School of Chemical Engineering (Information).


  • Photopolymerization and photoredox catalysis for photopolymerization;

Light responsive materials;


  • Cyrille has co-authored over 350 research articles,5 book chapters and 7 international patents published in high-impact journals (e.g. Science, Nature Nanotechnology, Nature Communication, Journal of the American Chemical Society, Angewandte Chemistry, Advanced Science, Chemical Reviews, Chemical Society Reviews, Chemical Science and Macromolecules etc.); 
  • More than 25,000 citation and H-index  of 92 (‪Cyrille Boyer‬ - ‪Google Scholar‬);
  • 23 ISI Highly Cited Papers in the last 10 years rated by ISI web of Science Essential Science Indicators; 
  • Listed as Highly Cited in Chemistry since 2018; 


  • 2022-2024      Elected as a Member of the Australian Research Council – College of Experts
  • 2020                Elected as a fellow of European Academy of Science

  • 2016-2019      Elected as a Member of the Australian Research Council – College of Experts

  • 2018                Chemical Engineering Research Excellence Award sponsored by Monash University (IChemE)

  • 2018                Royal Chemistry Society - Polymer Chemistry Lectureship Award

  • 2018                Polymer International – IUPAC Young Investigator Award

  • 2018                Adjunct Chair Professor at Soochow University and Adjunct Professor at Beijing University of Chemical Technology (China)

  • 2017 & 2016   Finalist Eureka Prize for Scientific Research

  • 2016                ACS Macromolecules/Biomacromolecules Young Investigator Award

  • 2016               Journal of Polymer Science Innovation Award (delivered by the ACS Division of Polymeric Materials)

  • 2016                LeFevre Memorial Prize awarded by Australian Academy of Science

  • 2015                Named as “Emerging Investigator” by Chemical Society Reviews

  • 2015                Named as one of the inaugural 100 Knowledge innovators selected by the Knowledge Society and Australia’s Chief Scientist, Professor Ian Chubb

  • 2015                Prime Minister’s Prize for Science (2015 Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year, the highest award for early-mid career researcher in physical sciences in Australia)

  • 2014 & 2016   Listed as “Emerging Investigator” (2014) & “Pioneering Investigators” (2016) by Polymer Chemistry

  • 2013                Listed as an “Emerging Investigator” by Chemical Communication and as a “Rising Star in Polymer Sciences” by Macromolecular Rapid Communication; 

  • 2013          Listed as a “Rising Stars and Young Nano-architects” by Journal of Materials Chemistry

  • 2012                Winner, Scopus Young Researcher of the Year Award (Engineering and Technology)

  • 2012                Australian Research Council – Future Fellowship (2013-2016)

  • 2009                Australian Research Council – Australian Post-Doctoral Fellowship