School and Faculty Contacts

The School is responsible for providing a research training environment and culture that ensures high-quality HDR research. School responsibilities include appointment of a PGC, establishing and maintaining procedures for selecting appropriate supervision and ensuring that supervisors undergo appropriate supervisory training as required, ensuring an appropriate research topic and achievable timeline is agreed upon for candidates, helping candidates effectively use the research infrastructure of the school, and providing appropriate space and resources to carry out the approved research program.

Below are the Postgraduate Coordinator and Faculty Contacts for Higher Degree by Research Candidates. 

 

Art & Design (Paddington Campus)

POSTGRADUATE COORDINATOR

HDR ADMINISTRATOR

Postgraduate Coordinator Stage One

(Admission)

Dr Astrid Lorange

Email: a.lorange@unsw.edu.au

 

Postgraduate Coordinator Stage Two and Three

(Candidature, Progression and Examination)

Mr David Eastwood

Email: d.eastwood@unsw.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 8936 0750

Email: support.pgresearch.artdesign@unsw.edu.au

 

0
Arts and Social Sciences

SCHOOL

POSTGRADUATE COORDINATOR

HDR ADMINISTRATOR

School of Education     

Professor Sue Starfield

Email: PGCEducation@unsw.edu.au

 

Deputy Postgraduate Coordinator

Dr Hoa Nguyen

Email: PGCEducation@unsw.edu.au

Sertan Saral

Phone: +61 2 9385 0616

Email: s.saral@unsw.edu.au

 

School of Arts and Media

Deputy PGC Admissions -

Dr Fiona Morrison

Email: f.morrison@unsw.edu.au

 

PGC Candidature -

Dr Jodi Brooks

Email: j.brooks@unsw.edu.au

 

Deputy PGC Examinations - 

Dr Sean Pryor

Email: s.pryor@unsw.edu.au

Chloe Fong

Phone: +61 2 9385 7063

Email: sampg@unsw.edu.au

 

School of Humanities and Languages   

Postgraduate Coordinator

Associate Professor Karyn Lai

Email: hal-pg@unsw.edu.au

 

Deputy Postgraduate Coordinator

Associate Professor Simon Lumsden

Email: hal-pg@unsw.edu.au

Chloe Fong

Phone: +61 2 9385 7063

Email: hal-pg@unsw.edu.au

 

School of Social Sciences

Associate Professor Geoffrey Levey

Email: PGC-SOSS@unsw.edu.au

 

Deputy Postgraduate Coordinator

Dr Andy Kaladelfos

Email: PGC-SOSS@unsw.edu.au

Sertan Saral

Phone: +61 2 9385 0616

Email: s.saral@unsw.edu.au

 

Social Policy Research Centre

Associate Professor Bruce Bradbury 

Email: b.bradbury@unsw.edu.au

Lisa McElhinney

Phone: +61 2 9385 7800

Email: study.sprc@unsw.edu.au

Centre for Social Research in Health

Associate Professor Bruce Bradbury 

Email: b.bradbury@unsw.edu.au

 

Lisa McElhinney

Phone: +61 2 9385 6776

Email: csrh.study@unsw.edu.au

 

0
Built Environment

POSTGRADUATE COORDINATOR

HDR ADMINISTRATOR

Postgraduate Coordinator

Dr Paola Favaro

Phone: +61 2 9385 6681

Email: paola.f@unsw.edu.au

 

Postgraduate Coordinator

Dr Brian Lee

Phone: +61 2 9385 1418

Email: brian.j.lee@unsw.edu.au

Khurshid Jilla

Phone: +61 2 9385 6653

Email: be.hdr@unsw.edu.au

 

 

0
Business

SCHOOL

POSTGRADUATE COORDINATOR

HDR ADMINISTRATOR

School of Accounting

Admissions: Dr Wei Chen  

Email: wei.chen@unsw.edu.au

Candidature and Thesis: Dr Helen Kang  

Email: helen.kang@unsw.edu.au

Kathy Song

Phone: +61 2 9385 5948

Email: kathy.song@unsw.edu.au

School of Banking and Finance

Associate Professor Breno Schmidt  

Email: breno.schmidt@unsw.edu.au

Sarah Jo Steinhoff

Email: s.steinhoff@unsw.edu.au

School of Economics

Dr Keiichi Kawai  

Email: econ.hdr@unsw.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 9385 9903

Email: econ.hdr@unsw.edu.au

School of Information Systems, Technology and Management

Associate Professor Chung-Li Tseng  

Email: c.tseng@unsw.edu.au

Margaret Lo

Phone: +61 2 9385 5320

Email: istm@unsw.edu.au

School of Management

Associate Professor Steven Lui

Email: steven.lui@unsw.edu.au

Yazmin Collins

Phone: +61 2 9385 3384

Email: y.seremley@unsw.edu.au 

School of Marketing

Dr Ting Yu 

Email: ting.yu@unsw.edu.au

 

Danya Luo

Phone: +61 2 9385 3242

Email: danya.luo@unsw.edu.au

School of Risk and Actuarial Studies

Dr Jonathan Ziveyi  

Email: j.ziveyi@unsw.edu.au

Josette Milord

Phone: +61 2 9385 3391

Email: j.milord@unsw.edu.aurasadmin@unsw.edu.au

School of Taxation and Business Law

Professor Fiona Martin  

Email: f.martin@unsw.edu.au

Maree Magafas

Phone: +61 2 9385 9549

Email: m.magafas@unsw.edu.au

 

0
Engineering

SCHOOL

POSTGRADUATE COORDINATOR

HDR ADMINISTRATOR

School of Biomedical Engineering

Associate Professor Megan Lord  

Email: ENG.PGC.BIOM@unsw.edu.au

Patricia McLaughlin

Phone: +61 2 9385 3929 (Wednesdays only)

            +61 2 9385 5091 (Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday)

Email: ENG.HDR.BIOM@unsw.edu.au

School of Chemical Engineering

Admissions and Scholarships: Professor Per Zetterlund  

Email: p.zetterlund@unsw.edu.au

Candidature and Thesis: Associate Professor Jian Zhao  

Email: ENG.PGC.CEIC@unsw.edu.au

Ik Ling Lau

Phone: +61 2 9385 4345 (Monday, Tuesday and Friday)

Email: ENG.HDR.CEIC@unsw.edu.au

School of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Associate Professor Hamid Vali Pour Goudarzi

Email: ENG.PGC.CVEN@unsw.edu.au

Patricia McLaughlin

Phone: +61 2 9385 5091

Email: ENG.HDR.CIVIL@unsw.edu.au

School of Computer Science and Engineering

Admissions and Scholarships:

Associate Professor Oliver Diessel  

Email: ENG.PGC.CSE@unsw.edu.au

Candidature and Thesis:

Associate Professor Salil Kanhere

Email: ENG.PGC.CSE@unsw.edu.au

Colin Taylor

Phone: +61 2 9385 6873 

Email: ENG.HDR.CSE@unsw.edu.au

School of Electrical Engineering and Telecommunications

Admissions and Scholarships:

Dr Vidhyasaharan Sethu

Email: ENG.PGC.EET@unsw.edu.au

Candidature and Thesis:

Professor John Fletcher

Email: ENG.PGC.EET@unsw.edu.au

Olivia Huang

Phone: +61 2 9385 4001

Email: ENG.HDR.EET@unsw.edu.au

School of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering

Admissions and Scholarships:

Dr Bernd Gludovatz

Email: ENG.PGC.MME@unsw.edu.au

Candidature and Thesis:

Professor Liangchi Zhang  

Email: ENG.PGC.MME@unsw.edu.au

Julie Lui

Phone: +61 2 9385 5498

Email: ENG.HDR.MME@unsw.edu.au

School of Minerals and Energy Resources Engineering

Dr Ryan Armstrong  

Email: ENG.PGC.MERE@unsw.edu.au

 

Ik Ling Lau

Phone: +61 2 9385 5039 (Wednesday)

Phone: +61 2 9385 9577 (Thursday)

Email: ENG.HDR.MERE@unsw.edu.au

School of Photovoltaic and Renewable Energy Engineering

Professor Alison Lennon

Email: ENG.PGC.SPREE@unsw.edu.au

Julie Lui

Phone:+61 2 9385 0797

Email: ENG.HDR.SPREE@unsw.edu.au

 

0
Law

POSTGRADUATE COORDINATOR

HDR ADMINISTRATOR

Professor Rosemary Rayfuse

Email: r.rayfuse@unsw.edu.au

Jenny Jarrett

Phone: +61 2 9385 3821

Email: j.jarrett@unsw.edu.au

 

0
Medicine

SCHOOL

POSTGRADUATE COORDINATOR

HDR ADMINISTRATOR

School of Medical Sciences

 

Associate Professor Pascal Carrive  

Email: p.carrive@unsw.edu.au

Dr Nicole Jones

Email: n.jones@unsw.edu.au

 

TBA

School of Psychiatry

Associate Professor Phil Ward  

Email: p.ward@unsw.edu.au

Dr Karen Mather

Email: karen.mather@unsw.edu.au

Email: MED.Psychiatry.PostGrad@unsw.edu.au

School of Public Health and Community Medicine

Dr Husna Razee  

Email: husna.razee@unsw.edu.au

Dr James Wood

Email: james.wood@unsw.edu.au

John Redmond

Phone +61 2 9385 3588

Email: resdegree-sphcm@unsw.edu.au

School of Women's and Children's Health

Paediatric: Professor Richard Lock  

Email: richard.lock@unsw.edu.au

Obstetrics and Gynaecology: Professor Alec Walsh  

Email: alec.welsh@unsw.edu.au

 

Paediatrics and Children's Cancer

Georgina Pembroke

Phone +61 2 9382 5509

Email: swch-hdr@unsw.edu.au

 

Obstetrics and Gynaecology

Georgina Pembroke

Phone +61 2 9382 5509

Email: swch-hdr@unsw.edu.au

 

South Western Sydney Clinical School

Dr Roberto Forero

Email: r.forero@unsw.edu.au

Lorinda Carter

Phone: +61 8 8738 3847

Email: lorinda.carter@unsw.edu.au

Prince of Wales Clinical School

Dr Jonathan Erlich  

Email: j.erlich@unsw.edu.au

Associate Professor Jeff Holst

Email: j.holst@unsw.edu.au

Joanna Ryan

Phone: +61 2 9382 8880

Email: postgraduate.powcs@unsw.edu.au

The George Institute for Global Health

Professor Maree Hackett

Email: mhackett@georgeinstitute.org.au

Martyn Ralph

Phone: +61 2 8052 4772

Email: mralph@georgeinstitute.org.au

The Kirby Institute for Infection and Immunity in Society

Dr Mary Poynten

Email: Mpoynten@kirby.unsw.edu.au

Dr Richard Gray

Email: Rgray@unsw.edu.au

Vicky Sawatt

Phone +61 2 9385 0926

Email: vsawatt@kirby.unsw.edu.au

St George Clinical School

Professor Georgina Hold 

Email: georgina.hold@unsw.edu.au

Carolyn Green

Phone: +61 2 9113 2992 or +61 2 9113 2995

Email: admin-stgcl@unsw.edu.au

St Vincent's Clinical School

Associate Professor Mark Danta  

Email: m.danta@unsw.edu.au

Laura Derkenne

Phone +61 2 8382 2352

Email: stvpostgrad@unsw.edu.au

Rural Clinical School

Dr Linda Ferrington

Email: l.ferrington@unsw.edu.au

Please contact Postgraduate Coordinator Dr Linda Ferrington

Email: l.ferrington@unsw.edu.au

0
Science

SCHOOL

POSTGRADUATE COORDINATOR

HDR ADMINISTRATOR

School of Aviation

Associate Professor Brett Molesworth  

Email: b.molesworth@unsw.edu.au

 

Jamie Lim

Phone +61 2 9385 5787

Email: aviam@unsw.edu.au

School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences

Admissions and Scholarships: Dr Suhelen Egan  

Email: s.egan@unsw.edu.au

Candidature: Dr Carol Oliver  

Email: carol.oliver@unsw.edu.au 

Thesis: Associate Professor Alexander Sen Gupta  

Email: a.sengupta@unsw.edu.au

Jonathan Russell

Phone: +61 2 9385 0637

Email: j.russell@unsw.edu.au

School of Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences

Admissions and Scholarships: Dr Kate Quinlan

Email: kate.quinlan@unsw.edu.au

 

Candidature: Associate Professor Paul Waters  

Email: p.waters@unsw.edu.au

 

Thesis: Dr Michael Janitz 

Email: m.janitz@unsw.edu.au

Kylie Jones

Phone: +61 2 9385 2029

Email: babs-pg@unsw.edu.au

School of Chemistry

Admissions and Scholarships: Associate Professor Suzanne Neville  

Email: s.neville@unsw.edu.au

Candidature: Associate Professor Alex Donald 

Email: w.donald@unsw.edu.au

Thesis and Examinations: Professor Naresh Kumar 

Email: n.kumar@unsw.edu.au

HDR Administrator TBA

For all enquiries, please contact the appropriate Postgraduate Coordinator

Climate Change Research Centre

Admissions and Candidature: Associate Professor Lisa Alexander

Email: l.alexander@unsw.edu.au

Thesis: Associate Professor Alexander Sen Gupta  

Email: a.sengupta@unsw.edu.au

Bronwen Smith

Phone: +61 2 9385 9766

Email: bronwen.smith@unsw.edu.au

School of Materials Science and Engineering

Admissions and Scholarships: Dr Danyang Wang 

Email: dy.wang@unsw.edu.au

Candidate and Thesis: Professor Nagarajan Valanoor  

Email: nagarajan@unsw.edu.au

Michael Lai

Phone: +61 2 9385 7298

Email: enquiries.materials@unsw.edu.au

School of Mathematics and Statistics

Admissions and Scholarships: Professor Gary Froyland

Email: g.froyland@unsw.edu.au

Candidate and Thesis: Associate Professor Ian Doust  

Email: i.doust@unsw.edu.au

Julie Hebblewhite

Phone: +61 2 9385 7053

Email: j.hebblewhite@unsw.edu.au

School of Optometry and Vision Science

Dr Maria Markoulli

Email: m.markoulli@unsw.edu.au

Dr Anne Barnes

Phone: +61 2 9385 4943

Email: anne.barnes@unsw.edu.au

School of Physics

Admissions and Scholarships: Dr Peter Reece and Associate Professor Dennis Stello  

Email: p.reece@unsw.edu.au; d.stello@unsw.edu.au

Candidature and Thesis: Dr Jan Hamann and Dr Kim-Vy Tran

Email: pgcp-list@physics.unsw.edu.au

Seda Cokcetin

Phone +61 2 9385 4553

Email: pgcp-list@physics.unsw.edu.au

School of Psychology

Associate Professor Chris Donkin

Email: c.donkin@unsw.edu.au

Associate Professor Mike Le Pelley

Email: m.lepelley@unsw.edu.au

Emmalee Taylor

Phone: +61 2 9385 3236
Email: emmalee.ogrady@unsw.edu.au

 

0
UNSW Canberra

SCHOOL

POSTGRADUATE COORDINATOR

RESEARCH STUDENT UNIT

School of Business

Dr Fiona Buick

Email: f.buick@adfa.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 6268 8112

Email: rsu@adfa.edu.au

School of Engineering and Information Technology

Dr Amar Khennane

Email: a.khennane@adfa.edu.au

 

Dr Murat Tahtali

Email: m.tahtali@adfa.edu.au

School of Humanities and Social Sciences

Dr Gavin Mount

Email: g.mount@adfa.edu.au

School of Science

Dr Anthony Day

Email: a.day@adfa.edu.au

0
UNSW Nura Gili Indigenous Programs (Indigenous Studies)

POSTGRADUATE COORDINATOR

HDR ADMINISTRATOR

Dr Diana Perche

Email: diana.perche@unsw.edu.au

Mary Pianka

Phone: +61 2 9385 3120

Email: mary.pianka@unsw.edu.au

0