School and Faculty Contacts

The School is responsible for providing a research training environment and culture that ensures high-quality HDR research. School responsibilities include appointment of a PGC, establishing and maintaining procedures for selecting appropriate supervision and ensuring that supervisors undergo appropriate supervisory training as required, ensuring an appropriate research topic and achievable timeline is agreed upon for candidates, helping candidates effectively use the research infrastructure of the school, and providing appropriate space and resources to carry out the approved research program.

Below are the Postgraduate Coordinator and Faculty Contacts for Higher Degree by Research Candidates. 

 

Arts, Design and Architecture

SCHOOL

POSTGRADUATE COORDINATOR

HDR ADMINISTRATOR

School of Art and Design

Candidature and Examinations: Dr David Eastwood

Email: d.eastwood@unsw.edu.au

 

Admissions: 

Dr Livia Lazzaro Rezende

Email: livia.rezende@unsw.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 8936 0750
Email: support.pgresearch.artdesign@unsw.edu.au

School of Education     

Postgraduate Coordinator

Dr Hoa Nguyen

Email: PGCEducation@unsw.edu.au

 

Deputy Postgraduate Coordinator

Associate Professor Richard Niesche

Email: PGCEducation@unsw.edu.au

Kathryn Pintaric

Phone: +61 2 9385 8533

Email: education@unsw.edu.au

 

School of Humanities and Languages   

Postgraduate Coordinator

Dr Karyn Lai

Email: hal-pg@unsw.edu.au

 

Deputy Postgraduate Coordinator

Associate Professor Simon Lumsden

Email: hal-pg@unsw.edu.au

Kathryn Pintaric

Phone: +61 2 9385 8533

Email: hal-pg@unsw.edu.au

 

School of Social Sciences

Candidature: Dr Michael Salter

Email: PGC-SOSS@unsw.edu.au

 

Admissions: 

Dr Abner Wang Cheong Poon

Email: PGC-SOSS@unsw.edu.au

 

Examinations: Dr William Clapton

Email: PGC-SOSS@unsw.edu.au

Kathryn Pintaric

Phone: +61 2 9385 8533

Email:

PGC-SOSS@unsw.edu.au

 

 

School of the Arts and Media

Candidature: Dr Jodi Brooks

Email: j.brooks@unsw.edu.au

 

Admissions: 

Dr Kim Burwell

Email: k.burwell@unsw.edu.au

 

Examinations: Dr Sean Pryor

Email: s.pryor@unsw.edu.au

Kathryn Pintaric

Phone: +61 2 9385 8533

Email:

sampg@unsw.edu.au

School of the Built Environment

Dr Paola Favaro

Phone: +61 2 9385 6681

Email: paola.f@unsw.edu.au

 

Dr Brian Lee

Phone: +61 2 9385 1418

Email: brian.j.lee@unsw.edu.au

 

Email: be.hdr@unsw.edu.au

Social Policy Research Centre

Associate Professor Bruce Bradbury 

Email: b.bradbury@unsw.edu.au

Amy Stansfield

Email: study.sprc@unsw.edu.au

Centre for Social Research in Health

Associate Professor Bruce Bradbury 

Email: b.bradbury@unsw.edu.au

 

Amy Stansfield

Email: csrh.study@unsw.edu.au

 

0
Business

SCHOOL

POSTGRADUATE COORDINATOR

HDR ADMINISTRATOR

School of Accounting

Candidature and Thesis: Dr Helen Kang  

Email: helen.kang@unsw.edu.au

 

Admissions: Dr Wei Chen  

Email: wei.chen@unsw.edu.au

Kathy Song

Phone: +61 2 9385 5948

Email: kathy.song@unsw.edu.au

School of Banking and Finance

Associate Professor Breno Schmidt  

Email: breno.schmidt@unsw.edu.au

Sarah Jo Steinhoff

Email: s.steinhoff@unsw.edu.au

School of Economics

Dr Keiichi Kawai  

Email: econ.hdr@unsw.edu.au

Sue Hickey

Phone: +61 2 9385 9903

Email: econ.hdr@unsw.edu.au

School of Information Systems, Technology and Management

Associate Professor Chung-Li Tseng  

Email: c.tseng@unsw.edu.au

Margaret Lo

Phone: +61 2 9385 5320

Email: istm@unsw.edu.au

School of Management

Dr Hugh Bainbridge

Email: h.bainbridge@unsw.edu.au

Yazmin Collins

Phone: +61 2 9385 3384

Email: y.seremley@unsw.edu.au 

School of Marketing

Dr Ting Yu 

Email: ting.yu@unsw.edu.au

 

Danya Luo

Phone: +61 2 9385 3242

Email: danya.luo@unsw.edu.au

School of Risk and Actuarial Studies

Dr Yang Shen

Email: y.shen@unsw.edu.au

Josette Milord

Phone: +61 2 9385 3391

Email: j.milord@unsw.edu.aurasadmin@unsw.edu.au

School of Taxation and Business Law

Professor Fiona Martin  

Email: f.martin@unsw.edu.au

Maree Magafas

Phone: +61 2 9385 9549

Email: m.magafas@unsw.edu.au

 

0
Engineering

SCHOOL

POSTGRADUATE COORDINATOR

HDR ADMINISTRATOR

Graduate School of Biomedical Engineering

Candidature and Thesis:

Associate Professor Megan Lord  

Email: ENG.PGC.BIOM@unsw.edu.au

 

Admissions and Scholarships:

Dr Jelena Rnjak-Kovacina

Email: j.rnjak-kovacina@unsw.edu.au

Sunhee Lim

Phone: +61 2 9385 3929 (Wednesdays only)

Email: ENG.HDR.BIOM@unsw.edu.au

School of Chemical Engineering

Candidature and Thesis:

Associate Professor Jian Zhao  

Email: ENG.PGC.CEIC@unsw.edu.au

 

Admissions and Scholarships:

Professor Per Zetterlund  

Email: p.zetterlund@unsw.edu.au

Ik Ling Lau

Phone: +61 2 9385 4345 (Monday, Tuesday and Friday)

Email: ENG.HDR.CEIC@unsw.edu.au

School of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Candidature and Thesis: 

Associate Professor Hamid Vali Pour Goudarzi

Email: ENG.PGC.CVEN@unsw.edu.au

 

Admissions and Scholarships:

Dr Mitchell Harley

Email: m.harley@unsw.edu.au

Sunhee Lim

Phone: +61 2 9385 5091(Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday)

Email: ENG.HDR.CVEN@unsw.edu.au

School of Computer Science and Engineering

Candidature and Thesis:

Professor Salil Kanhere

Email: ENG.PGC.CSE@unsw.edu.au

 

Admissions and Scholarships:

Professor Mahbub Hassan

Email: mahbub.hassan@unsw.edu.au

Colin Taylor

Phone: +61 2 9385 8081 

Email: ENG.HDR.CSE@unsw.edu.au

School of Electrical Engineering and Telecommunications

Candidature and Thesis:

Dr Rukmi Dutta

Email: ENG.PGC.EET@unsw.edu.au

 

Admissions and Scholarships:

Dr Georgios Konstantinou

Email: g.konstantinou@unsw.edu.au

Olivia Huang

Phone: +61 2 9385 4001

Email: ENG.HDR.EET@unsw.edu.au

School of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering

Candidature and Thesis:

Professor Shawn Kook  

Email: ENG.PGC.MME@unsw.edu.au

 

Admissions and Scholarships:

Dr Bernd Gludovatz

Email: b.gludovatz@unsw.edu.au

Julie Lui

Phone: +61 2 9065 8235

Email: ENG.HDR.MME@unsw.edu.au

School of Minerals and Energy Resources Engineering

Candidature and Thesis:

Associate Professor Stuart Clark  

Email: ENG.PGC.MERE@unsw.edu.au

 

Admissions and Scholarships:

Associate Professor Stuart Clark

Email: ENG.PGC.MERE@unsw.edu.au

Ik Ling Lau

Phone: +61 2 9385 5039 (Wednesday)

Phone: +61 2 9385 9577 (Thursday)

Email: ENG.HDR.MERE@unsw.edu.au

School of Photovoltaic and Renewable Energy Engineering

Candidature and Thesis:

Professor Alison Lennon

Email: ENG.PGC.SPREE@unsw.edu.au

 

Admissions and Scholarships:

Associate Professor Ned Ekins-Daukes

Email: nekins@unsw.edu.au

Julie Lui

Phone:+61 2 9065 8235

Email: ENG.HDR.SPREE@unsw.edu.au

 

0
Law and Justice

SCHOOL

POSTGRADUATE COORDINATOR

HDR ADMINISTRATOR

School of Global and Public Law

Dr Jonathan Bonnitcha

Email: j.bonnitcha@unsw.edu.au

Jenny Jarrett

Phone: +61 2 9385 3821

Email: j.jarrett@unsw.edu.au

School of Law, Society and Criminology

Dr Andy Kaladelfos

Email: a.kaladelfos@unsw.edu.au

Jenny Jarrett

Phone: +61 2 9385 3821

Email: j.jarrett@unsw.edu.au

School of Private and Commercial Law

Associate Professor Kun Fan

Email: kun.fan@unsw.edu.au

 

Jenny Jarrett

Phone: +61 2 9385 3821

Email: j.jarrett@unsw.edu.au

 

0
Medicine and Health

SCHOOL

POSTGRADUATE COORDINATOR

HDR ADMINISTRATOR

School of Medical Sciences

 

Associate Professor Pascal Carrive  

Email: somshdr@unsw.edu.au 

 

Dr Nicole Jones

Email: somshdr@unsw.edu.au 

 

John Redmond

Phone: +61 2 9385 8195

Email: somshdr@unsw.edu.au 

School of Population Health

Admissions and Candidature: Dr Husna Razee  

Email: husna.razee@unsw.edu.au

 

Thesis Examinations and Scholarships: Associate Professor James Wood

Email: james.wood@unsw.edu.au

Joanna Ryan

Email: resdegree-sphcm@unsw.edu.au

School of Psychiatry

Associate Professor Phil Ward  

Email: p.ward@unsw.edu.au

 

Dr Karen Mather

Email: karen.mather@unsw.edu.au

Francine Cox

Email: MED.Psychiatry.PostGrad@unsw.edu.au

School of Women's and Children's Health

Paediatric: Professor Richard Lock  

Email: richard.lock@unsw.edu.au

 

Obstetrics and Gynaecology: Professor Alec Walsh  

Email: alec.welsh@unsw.edu.au

 

Paediatrics and Children's Cancer

Georgina Pembroke

Phone: +61 2 9382 5509

Email: swch-hdr@unsw.edu.au

 

Obstetrics and Gynaecology

Georgina Pembroke

Phone: +61 2 9382 5509

Email: swch-hdr@unsw.edu.au

 

Prince of Wales Clinical School

Professor Bettina Meiser 

Email: b.meiser@unsw.edu.au

 

Associate Professor Jeff Holst

Email: j.holst@unsw.edu.au

Kara Jacob

Phone: +61 2 9382 8880

Email: postgraduate.powcs@unsw.edu.au

Rural Clinical School

Dr Linda Ferrington

Email: l.ferrington@unsw.edu.au

Tony Jordan

Email: tony.jordan@unsw.edu.au

St George Clinical School

Professor Georgina Hold 

Email: georgina.hold@unsw.edu.au

 

Dr Ashish Diwan

Email: a.diwan@unsw.edu.au

Carolyn Green

Phone: +61 2 9113 2995

Email: admin-stgcl@unsw.edu.au

St Vincent's Clinical School

Associate Professor Mark Danta  

Email: m.danta@unsw.edu.au

Laura Derkenne

Phone +61 2 8382 2352

Email: stvpostgrad@unsw.edu.au

South Western Sydney Clinical School

Dr Roberto Forero

Email: r.forero@unsw.edu.au

Lorinda Carter

Phone: +61 8 8738 3847

Email: lorinda.carter@unsw.edu.au

The George Institute for Global Health

Professor Maree Hackett

Email: mhackett@georgeinstitute.org.au

Hayley Paris

Phone: +61 2 8052 4741

Email: hparis@georgeinstitute.org.au

The Kirby Institute for Infection and Immunity in Society

Dr Chantelle Ahlenstiel

Email: cahlenstiel@kirby.unsw.edu.au

 

Dr Richard Gray

Email: Rgray@unsw.edu.au

Vicky Sawatt

Phone +61 2 9385 0926

Email: vsawatt@kirby.unsw.edu.au

0
Science

SCHOOL

POSTGRADUATE COORDINATOR

HDR ADMINISTRATOR

School of Aviation

Associate Professor Brett Molesworth  

Email: b.molesworth@unsw.edu.au

 

Jamie Lim

Phone +61 2 9385 5787

Email: aviam@unsw.edu.au

School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences

Candidature: Associate Professor Suhelen Egan  

Email: s.egan@unsw.edu.au 

 

Thesis: Associate Professor Alexander Will Cornwell  

Email: w.cornwell@unsw.edu.au

 

Admissions and Scholarships: Associate Professor Lee Ann Rollins  

Email: l.rollins@unsw.edu.au

Jonathan Russell

Phone: +61 2 9385 0637

Email: j.russell@unsw.edu.au

School of Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences

Candidature: Dr Kate Quinlan

Email: kate.quinlan@unsw.edu.au

 

Thesis: Dr Michael Janitz 

Email: m.janitz@unsw.edu.au

 

Admissions and Scholarships: Dr Jai Tree

Email: j.tree@unsw.edu.au

Kylie Jones

Phone: +61 2 9065 9717

Email: babs-pg@unsw.edu.au

School of Chemistry

Candidature: Dr Vinh Nguyen 

Email: t.v.nguyen@unsw.edu.au 

 

Thesis and Examinations: Associate Professor Alex Donald 

Email: w.donald@unsw.edu.au

 

Admissions and Scholarships: Associate Professor Suzanne Neville

Email: s.neville@unsw.edu.au

Sheree Munro

Email: sheree.munro@unsw.edu.au

Climate Change Research Centre

Candidature and Thesis: Associate Professor Lisa Alexander

Email: l.alexander@unsw.edu.au

 

Admissions and Scholarships: Professor Jason Evans

Email: jason.evans@unsw.edu.au

Bronwen Smith

Phone: +61 2 9385 9766

Email: bronwen.smith@unsw.edu.au

School of Materials Science and Engineering

Candidate and Thesis: Professor Nagarajan Valanoor  

Email: nagarajan@unsw.edu.au

 

Admissions and Scholarships: Dr Danyang Wang 

Email: dy.wang@unsw.edu.au

Michael Lai

Phone: +61 2 9385 7298

Email: enquiries.materials@unsw.edu.au

School of Mathematics

Candidate and Thesis: Associate Professor Ian Doust  

Email: i.doust@unsw.edu.au

 

Admissions and Scholarships: Dr Alina Ostafe

Email: alina.ostafe@unsw.edu.au

Markie Lugton

Phone: +61 2 9385 7053

Email: m.lugton@unsw.edu.au

School of Optometry and Vision Science

Dr Maria Markoulli

Email: m.markoulli@unsw.edu.au

Dr Anne Barnes

Phone: +61 2 9385 4943

Email: anne.barnes@unsw.edu.au

School of Physics

Candidature and Thesis: Dr Jan Hamann and Dr Kim-Vy Tran

Email: pgcp-list@physics.unsw.edu.au

 

Admissions and Scholarships: Dr Peter Reece and Associate Professor Dennis Stello  

Email: p.reece@unsw.edu.au; d.stello@unsw.edu.au

Jo Bosben

Phone +61 2 9385 4553

Email: pgcp-list@physics.unsw.edu.au

School of Psychology

Associate Professor Christopher Donkin

Email: c.donkin@unsw.edu.au

 

Associate Professor Mike Le Pelley

Email: m.lepelley@unsw.edu.au

Emmalee Taylor

Phone: +61 2 9385 3236
Email: e.taylor@unsw.edu.au

 

0
UNSW Canberra

SCHOOL

POSTGRADUATE COORDINATOR

RESEARCH STUDENT UNIT

School of Business

Dr Anthea McCarthy-Jones

Email: a.mccarthy-jones@adfa.edu.au

Phone: +61 2 6268 8112

Email: rsu@adfa.edu.au

School of Engineering and Information Technology

Dr Amar Khennane

Email: a.khennane@adfa.edu.au

School of Humanities and Social Sciences

Dr Gavin Mount

Email: g.mount@adfa.edu.au

School of Science

Dr Wayne Hutchison

Email: w.hutchison@adfa.edu.au

0
UNSW Nura Gili Indigenous Programs (Indigenous Studies)

POSTGRADUATE COORDINATOR

HDR ADMINISTRATOR

Dr Bruce Bradbury

Email: b.bradbury@unsw.edu.au

Martina Lavin

Phone: +61 2 9385 3120

Email: m.lavin@nsw.edu.au

0
0

 

0