Division of Research Overview

Key Executive, Administrative & Support Units

unitoverviewimage

This page provides an overview of the structure of the Division of Research at UNSW, as well as outlining the key executive, administrative and support units within the Division.

__________________________________________________________________________

Office of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)

Professor Les Field AM, Vice-President & Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) is responsible for the strategic research direction and overall research performance of the University, and in particular, maintaining and advancing the University's profile in research and research training, as well as technology transfer.

General Enquiries
Phone
+61 2 9385 2700
Fax
+61 2 9385 8008
Email enquiries.research@unsw.edu.au
Staff Contacts
Name Position Phone / Email
Professor Les Field AM Vice-President & Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) T: +61 2 9385 2700
E: enquiries.research@unsw.edu.au

Jennifer Timms Executive Assistant T: +61 2 9385 2700
E: j.timms@unsw.edu.au
Bronwyn Greene Executive Officer (Research Policy) T: +61 2 9385 2983
E:  b.greene@unsw.edu.au
Andrea Burns Executive Officer (Budget & Operations) T: +61 2 9385 3126
E: a.burns@unsw.edu.au
David Do Project Officer T: +61 2 9385 2784
E: david.do@unsw.edu.au
Dr William Lao Project Officer T: +61 2 9385 9735
E: w.lao@unsw.edu.au

Office of the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research)

Professor Mark Hoffman, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research) provides strategic leadership and support to the Vice-President & Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) in the generation of external research income and improving UNSW’s overall research performance, and in attracting and retaining outstanding academic staff, research only staff and higher degree research students to UNSW.

The Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research) is also responsible for UNSW’s international research strategy, research partnerships including affiliated research institutes, eResearch strategy, research ethics and safety and effective promotion of the University’s research capability and research profile.

The Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research) acts in the position of Vice-President & Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) during the absence of Professor Les Field.

General Enquiries
Phone
+61 2 9385 5638
Fax
+61 2 9385 6545
Email nalisa.mam@unsw.edu.au
Staff Contacts
Name Position Phone / Email
Professor Mark Hoffman Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research) Please contact via Nalisa Mam
Nalisa Mam Executive Assistant

T: +61 2 9385 5638
E: nalisa.mam@unsw.edu.au

Julie Ward Research Coordinator T: +61 2 9385 6643
E: julie.w@unsw.edu.au
Vanessa Dawson Project Officer T: +61 2 9385 9739
E:  v.dawson@unsw.edu.au
Vladimir Tretyakov Reseach Web Coordinator T: +61 2 9385 9500
E:  v.tretyakov@unsw.edu.au

Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research Training) & Dean of Graduate Research

Professor Laura Poole-Warren, Dean of Graduate Research has executive responsibility for the Graduate Research School, the central unit responsible for administration of HDR candidatures and provides leadership and support to the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) in all strategy and policy matters relating HDR candidates.

General Enquiries
Phone
+61 2 9385 5500
Fax
+61 2 9385 6238
Email enquiries.grs@unsw.edu.au
Executive Staff Contacts
Name Position Phone / Email
Professor Laura Poole-Warren Dean of Graduate Research T: +61 2 9385 7661
E: l.poolewarren@unsw.edu.au
Margaret O'Byrne Director, Graduate Research T: +61 2 9385 7661
E: mob@unsw.edu.au
Megan Biok Executive Assistant to the Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research Training) & Dean of Graduate Research & Director, Graduate Research School  T: +61 2 9385 7661
E: m.biok@unsw.edu.au
F: + 61 2 9385 6238

___________________________________________________________________________________

Units


Grants Management Office

The UNSW Grants Management Office provides the University's researchers with support in pursuing and administering research funding. The Office facilitates the research efforts of UNSW staff by assisting with applications for grants and fellowships, the negotiation of research contracts and the administration of externally funded funds.

General Enquiries
Email mygrants.gmo@unsw.edu.au
Executive Staff Contacts
Name Position Phone / Email
Daniel Owens Director, GMO T: +61 2 9385 7254
E: d.owens@unsw.edu.au
F: + 61 2 9385 9797

Researcher Development Unit

The Researcher Development Unit (RDU) has the main responsibility for researcher training and development at UNSW. 

Executive Staff Contacts
Name Position Phone / Email
Cecilia Stenstrom Manager, RDU

T: +61 2 9385 4277
E: c.stenstrom@unsw.edu.au
F: +61 2 9385 6545

Research Ethics Compliance and Support (RECS)

The Research Ethics Compliance and Support (RECS) team coordinates committees and processes for research involving humans, animals, gene technology and radiation safety and provides advice on legislative and other requirements in these areas.

Executive Staff Contacts
Name Position Phone / Email
Dr Ted Rohr Director, RECS T: +61 2 9385 4235
E: ted.rohr@unsw.edu.au

Research Strategy Office

The Research Strategy Office aims to enhance UNSW’s research performance and profile by identifying opportunities for research funding (including awards and fellowships) and maximising the opportunity for success by advising/or directly assisting with the development of high quality applications. The RSO incorporates the UNSW Centres Secretariat.

General Enquiries
Phone
+61 2 9385 5600
Email enquiries.rso@unsw.edu.au
Executive Staff Contacts
Name Position Phone / Email
Associate Professor Laurent Rivory Director, RSO T:+61 2 9385 7945
E: l.rivory@unsw.edu.au
Scott Hoggan Office Manager T: +61 2 9385 5600             
E: s.hoggan@unsw.edu.au
Associate Professor Peter Krug Snr Research Development Mgr, Centres&Consortia T: +61 2 9385 9736
E: p.krug@unsw.edu.au

Research Partnerships

Research Partnerships provides strategic leadership in the identification, establishment and effective management of research partnerships including industry, government, other external partners including medical research institutes and affiliated institutions, and is responsible for UNSW’s participation in productive contract research, consulting, multi-venture initiatives and philanthropic research partnerships.

General Enquiries
Phone
+61 2 9385 5638
Fax
+61 2 9385 6545
Email research.partnerships@unsw.edu.au
Executive Staff Contacts
Name Position Phone / Email
Warwick Dawson Director, Research Partnerships T:+61 2 9385 7929
E: w.dawson@unsw.edu.au

Graduate Research School

The Graduate Research School provides the full range of services required to support both postgraduate research students and supervisors.

General Enquiries
Phone
+61 2 9385 5500
Fax
+61 2 9385 6238
Email enquiries.grs@unsw.edu.au

Executive Staff Contacts
See above.

Mark Wainwright Analytical Centre

The Mark Wainwright Analytical Centre houses major instrumentation used by researchers in the Faculties of Science, Medicine and Engineering for the study of the structure and composition of biological, chemical and physical materials. The Centre also does specialist consulting work for external clients. In addition, it provides the technical/professional support for the instruments.

General Enquiries
Phone
+61 2 9385 4646
Fax
+61 2 9385 4663
Email analytical@unsw.edu.au
Executive Staff Contacts
Name Position Phone / Email
Associate Professor Grainne Moran Managing Director T:+61 2 9385 4642
E: g.moran@unsw.edu.au

NewSouth Innovations

NewSouth Innovations works with University researchers and commercial partners to bring the results of UNSW research, innovation and invention to market.

General Enquiries
Phone
+61 2 9385 5008
Fax
+61 2 9385 5602
Executive Staff Contacts
Name Position Phone / Email
Dr Kevin Cullen CEO, NSi T: +61 2 9385 6527
E: k.cullen@nsinnovations.com.au
F: +61 2 9385 6502
Brihony Porter Executive Officer T: +61 2 9385 6505
E: b.porter@nsinnovations.com.au
F: + 61 2 9385 6502

Research Analysis, Performance & Profile Office

The Research Analysis, Performance & Profile Office is a dedicated unit established to support the goal of continuously improving UNSW's position as a leading research intensive university in Australia.

General Enquiries
Phone
+61 2 9385 2920
Fax
+61 2 9385 2918
Email era@unsw.edu.au
Staff Contacts
Name Position Phone / Email
Aleksandar Alimpijevic Director T: +61 2 9385 8165
E: a.alimpijevic@unsw.edu.au
F: + 61 2 9385 2918
Murray Green Deputy Director & Senior Data Analyst T: +61 2 9385 8035
E: murray.green@unsw.edu.au
F: + 61 2 9385 2918
Elvira Fonacier Project Officer T: +61 2 9385 2920
E: e.fonacier@unsw.edu.au
F: + 61 2 9385 2918