Strategic Hires and Retention Pathways ( SHARP )

Meet our SHARP hires to date:

UNSW's 2025 Strategy will position UNSW as 'Australia’s Global University'. We aspire to this in the belief that a great university, which is a global leader in discovery, innovation, impact, education and thought leadership, can make an enormous difference to people’s lives. An important aspect of the Strategy relates to research quality and excellence.

Our vision is to be among the leading research-intensive universities worldwide, known for innovative, pioneering research that has a global impact. UNSW will support leading researchers across all faculties and our best researchers will be recognised by prestigious national and international research awards. The number and quality of publications appearing in leading journals will steadily increase and many of our staff will be among the world’s most highly cited researchers.

To achieve this, UNSW will invest strategically, on a large scale, in recruitment in carefully selected areas of research, from across the full spectrum of endeavours in arts, built environment, business, design, law, social sciences, engineering, medicine and science. Recruitment will be focused in areas aligned with our identified areas of strength or in areas where we need to strategically build capacity. We will target world-class established research leaders through SHARP.

These research leaders we recruit will drive up UNSW’s research performance and the number of high-quality and highly cited research publications and other outputs and our proportion of research funding.

Meet our SHARP hires to date: 

  • Scientia Professor Jacob Goeree
    Director AGORA Centre for Market Design
    School of Economics, UNSW Business School
    • World authority on market design, interdisciplinary field combining game theory, computer science & experimental economics
    • Distinguished professorial career at Caltech and Universities of Zurich and Virginia
    • Former President of Economic Science Association, one of the few Australian Fellows of Econometric Society, Fellow of the Royal Netherlands Academy for Arts and Sciences and the Royal Netherlands Society for the Sciences
    • Over $12m in research funding, including equivalent of Laureate Fellowships in the Netherlands and Europe
    • Director of AGORA Center for Market Design, will lead ARC Centre of Excellence bid (shortlisted last round but withdrawn due to move to UNSW)
  • Associate Professor Bingqin Li –Director of the Chinese Social Policy Program, Social Policy Research Centre.
    • One of the top social policy scholars working on and in China
    • Previously Associate Professor in ANU’s Crawford School of Public Policy and Assistant Professor at London School of Economics
    • Strong connections and research collaboration with leading Chinese social policy scholars, government agencies, think tanks and major NGOs
    • Research consultancies for WHO, World Bank, UNICEF, UNESCAP, UNRISD, Save the Children, UK Department of International Development (DFID)
    • Commissioned research projects and contribute outputs in line with the best social policy scholars internationally
    • Experienced public speaker on social policy reforms, urbanization and social integration in China
  • Professor John Church - School of Biological, Earth & Environmental Sciences/Climate Change Research Centre. The world’s leading expert in sea-level science.
    • Distinguished career at CSIRO as a Research Scientist in Oceanography, rising to the position of CSIRO Fellow (a position held by fewer than two dozen of CSIRO’s several thousand scientists)
    • His area of expertise is the role of the ocean in climate, particularly anthropogenic climate change
    • He is an expert in estimating and understanding global and regional sea-level rise
    • Highly engaged internationally and reputationally, has played a major role on the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and the World Climate Research Programme
    • Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering, the American Meteorological Society and the Australian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society
    • Awarded the 2006 Roger Revelle Medal by the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission, a CSIRO Medal for Research Achievement in 2006, the 2007 Eureka Prize for Scientific Research, the 2008 AMOS R.H. Clarke Lecture and the AMOS Morton Medal in 2017
    • Directly aligns with UNSW Grand Challenge in Climate Change
  • A leading scholar in actuarial science and quantitative risk management.
    • Qihe Tang is a leading scholar in actuarial science and quantitative risk management.  After earning his Ph.D. in statistics from the University of Science and Technology of China in 2001, he has worked at different places in the world including the University of Hong Kong (2001), the University of Amsterdam (2002-2004), Concordia University (2004-2005), and the University of Iowa (2006-present).  He was conferred the F. Wendell Miller endowed professorship at the University of Iowa in July 2014 in honour of his scholarly work and professional contributions.
    • Qihe Tang’s expertise centers on extreme value theory for insurance, finance, and quantitative risk management.  He has been working on various topics recently arising from the interdisciplinary area of insurance, finance, probability, and statistics such as limit theorems for large portfolio losses, interplay of insurance and financial risks, heavy-tailed distributions, and extreme dependence.  Research on these topics has also piqued his recent interest in modeling, measuring, and managing catastrophe risks in insurance and finance.
    • Qihe Tang’s research has been constantly supported by external grants including one from the NSERC (Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada), one from the NSF (National Science Foundation of the US), one from the NSFC (National Natural Science Foundation of China), and a few from the SOA (Society of Actuaries).  Currently, he is an associate editor for several academic journals including Insurance: Mathematics and Economics, TEST, Applied Stochastic Models in Business and Industry, and Statistics & Probability Letters.  He has graduated a number of doctoral students who are now university professors all over the world.