HREA Panel D: Biomedical

Submission Closing Dates

Low risk research

Applications are to be submitted by no later than 5 pm on the closing date listed below and are reviewed monthly. Outcomes of the meeting will be circulated via email within 10 business days from the meeting date.

Modification requests, personnel modification requests and responses

Submissions must be provided by  no later than 5 pm on a Tuesday and are reviewed weekly. The final submission deadline is the 7th December 2021.The first submission deadline is the 25th January 2022.

Extension Requests and Late Submissions

  • Extensions for new applications to submission deadlines must be requested in writing before the submission deadline. Requests will be granted based on the number of applications listed on the panel agenda for the submission deadline and whether the maximum number of 20 applications has been exceeded. An extension of two working days will be provided for all requests granted.  
  • Submissions received after the deadline without a approved extension request will be processed for the next available submission closing date.
  • Extension requests are not provided for modifications, personnel requests or responses. 

2021

Closing Date

Meeting date

Monday 1 November

Tuesday 16 November

Monday 22 November

Tuesday 7 December**

2022

Closing Date

Meeting date

Monday 31 January

Tuesday 15 February

Monday 28 February

Tuesday 15 March

Monday 4 April

Tuesday 19 April

Monday 2 May

Tuesday 17 May

Monday 6 June

Tuesday 21 June

Monday 4 July

Tuesday 19 July

Monday 1 August

Tuesday 16 August

Monday 5 September

Tuesday 20 September

Monday 3 October*

Tuesday 18 October

Monday 7 November

Tuesday 22 November

Monday 21 November

Tuesday 6 December**

*Closing date moved to a Tuesday because of Public Holiday

** Meeting a week earlier to allow researchers time to submit executive responses

 

1
School/Faculty Allocation

The HREA Panel D: Biomedical will only review applications from the following schools:

  • Clinical School: Prince of Wales Hospital
  • Clinical School: St George Hospital
  • Clinical School: St Vincent's Hospital
  • Clinical School: SW Sydney
  • Medical Sciences
  • Psychiatry & Black Dog Institute
  • Women's / Children's Health
  • Children's Cancer Institute Australia for Medical Research
  • Immunology: St Vincent's Hospital
  • NeuRA

 

  • Ray Williams Biomedical Mass Spectronomy Facility
  • Skin and Cancer Foundation Australia
  • Thrombosis/Vascular Research
  • Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences (BABS)
  • Optometry and Vision Science
  • Optics and Radiometry
  • The George Institute for Global Health
1
Panel Members

Name

School

Membership Category

Dr Alex Hui

Optometry and Vision Science

Panel Convenor

Dr Kim van Schooten

NeuRA

Panel Member

Dr Matthew Jones

Medicine

Panel Member

Dr Sheela Kumaran Optometry and Vision Science Panel Member
Dr Kwok Leung Ong Medical Sciences

Panel Member

1
Submission Requirements

To submit the application form you need to complete the following steps:

  1. Attach all submission documents to an email.
  2. Attach an email or letter of support for the project from Head of School.
  3. In the cc section of the email, copy in any named student investigator(s) or co-investigator(s) listed on the application.
  4. The person listed as the Chief Investigator must send the application using their work email address.
  5. submit email by the relevant closing date to the humanethics@unsw.edu.au 
1