HREA Panel H: Science and Engineering

Submission Closing Dates

Low- risk research

Applications are to be submitted by no later than 5pm on the closing date listed below and are reviewed monthly. Outcomes of the meeting will be circulated via email within 10 business days from the meeting date.

Modification requests, personnel modification requests and responses

Submissions must be provided by no later than 5pm on a Tuesday and are reviewed weekly. The first submission deadline is the 25th January 2022. 

Extension Requests and Late Submissions

  • Extensions for new applications to submission deadlines must be requested in writing before the submission deadline. Requests will be granted based on the number of applications listed on the panel agenda for the submission deadline and whether the maximum number of 20 applications has been exceeded. An extension of two working days will be provided for all requests granted.  
  • Submissions received after the deadline without a approved extension request will be processed for the next available submission closing date.
  • Extension requests are not provided for modifications, personnel requests or responses. 


Closing Date

Meeting date


Monday 27 June

Tuesday 12 July

Monday 25 July

Tuesday 9 August

Monday 22 August

Tuesday 13 September

Monday 26 September

Tuesday 11 October

Monday 31 October

Tuesday 15 November

Monday 21 November

Tuesday 6 December

*Closing date moved to a Tuesday because of Public Holiday

School/Faculty Allocation

The HREA Panel H:Science and Engineering will only review applications from the following schools.

  • Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences (BEES)
  • Computer Science / Engineering
  • Chemical Engineering / Industrial Chemistry
  • Electrical Engineering / Telecommunications
  • Biomedical Engineering
  • Mechanical/Manufacturing Engineering
  • Civil/Environmental Engineering
  • Mining Engineering
  • Petroleum Engineering
  • Photovoltaic Engineering
  • Grad Biomedical Engineering
  • Remote Sensing
  • Safety Science
  • Materials Science
  • Mathematics
  • Food Science & Technology
  • Physics
  • Aviation
  • Chemistry
  • Transport and Roads Safety Research 
Panel Members



Membership Category

Dr Beena Ahmed

Electrical Engineering & Telecommunications

Panel Convenor

Dr Bruno Gaeta

Computer Science and Engineering

Panel Member

Dr Maarit Laaksonen

School of Mathematics & Statistics

Panel Member

Dr Tushar Kumeria

School of Materials Science & Engineering

Panel Member

Submission requirements

To submit the application form you need to complete the following steps:

  1. Attach all submission documents to an email.
  2. Attach an email or letter of support for the project from Head of School.
  3. In the cc section of the email, copy in any named student investigator(s) or co-investigator(s) listed on the application.
  4. The person listed as the Chief Investigator must send the application using their work email address.
  5. Submit email by the relevant closing date to the